today the glitterbomber is...
The current mood of glitterbomb at www.imood.com

new
older
profile
100 things
100 more things
e-mail
links and rings
quote-a-licious
guestbook
quizzes
other people
diaryland

did you miss anything?
close of 2003 - 2003-12-31
georgian grapes? in russian wine? - 2003-12-29
i'm gonna wash that database right outta my hair - 2003-12-23
acetone and toluene - 2003-12-22
grilled cheese in my future - 2003-12-21


2003-07-08
1:59 p.m.

last night, i found out that an old friend�s father died last week. the funeral and everything was last wednesday, so i missed it because i was away. i feel bad for not being there. it wasn�t a surprise that he died; he�d been sick for a long time because of complications from diabetes. my friend seems to be handling it as well as can be expected, and that helps ease my mind.

we had a few thunderstorms last night and this morning. the first one was yesterday evening. it wasn�t too bad, yet it still managed to knock the power out for an hour. then, i was woken up by deafening thunder at 1.30 this morning. the lightning seemed like it was inside my apartment. i was actually scared because it sounded so close. at one point, i ducked my head and covered it with my arms, wincing. the power went out for a few minutes during this storm, too. after the storm moved on a bit, i heard what sounded like firecrackers in the alley behind my house. i thought it was kind of strange, but the kids in the neighborhood have been going a little crazy with firecrackers lately, so i didn�t think too much of it. after storm number three at seven this morning, i heard the firecracker sound again. now i�m not so sure that�s what it was, since i don�t think the kids would be up that early during summer vacation just to set of firecrackers. i didn�t hear anyone, either. very strange. i have no idea what could be causing that noise.

i don�t have internet at home anymore. i had been dialing up for free into the university where i went to grad school and where i worked until last fall. once i graduated, i don�t think i should have been allowed to dial up for free anymore, but they renewed my account since my boss is a professor at the university. my account expired on july 1st when the new fiscal year started, and i�m trying to get them to renew it. i think they will. i asked the secretary at the center where i used to work to take care of it for me. she told me that the person who will renew it for me basically needs a kick in the butt to get moving. i don�t care too much if i have to wait a little bit, but i don�t want to have to start paying for internet service. it�s once more expense i don�t need, but i can�t do without it because i work from home sometimes, and you know, i like my internet!

it�s already tuesday, and i think the rest of the week will fly by. i�m starting to get busy once again. i feel like i�m on top of things so far, and i hope it stays that way. i don�t want to turn into a crazed stress case like i was a few weeks ago. i have a feeling that this is just the way my life is going to be, so i better find good ways of dealing with it.


previous / next