today the glitterbomber is...
The current mood of glitterbomb at www.imood.com

new
older
profile
100 things
100 more things
e-mail
links and rings
quote-a-licious
guestbook
quizzes
other people
diaryland

did you miss anything?
close of 2003 - 2003-12-31
georgian grapes? in russian wine? - 2003-12-29
i'm gonna wash that database right outta my hair - 2003-12-23
acetone and toluene - 2003-12-22
grilled cheese in my future - 2003-12-21


2003-06-16
7:13 p.m.

today at work, my computer decided to act possessed, so i got Very Little done. it started when i turned the thing on this morning. it took almost half an hour to get going and go though the �check disk� thingie. once i could log on, it was still running super slow and making loud, odd grinding noises. not good. i made two calls to the computer guy, but he never got to me. since almost everything i needed to get done today was on my computer, i left after lunch.

at least i did get a few things accomplished. i had a meeting, drafted up some plans for my nutrition intervention at the clinic where i do my research, scheduled a few interviews with subjects, did some banking, got my new parking space, and did some financial things for a study. i�m glad the day wasn�t a complete waste. i feel behind since i missed four days last week. on my way out, i stopped by to see katrina and picked up more work to do for her. she�d given me a box of tests to grade, code, and enter into a spreadsheet. i finally finished the last of them last night, but i won�t be resting �cause she gave me more. it�s a lot of extra work (yesterday, i worked on it for nine hours), but it�s also much-needed extra money. now i can pay for my car insurance and go to montreal without being sent into a financial panic.

i�m having mixed feelings about my new parking space. since the end of october, i�ve been on the waiting list for one of the parking lots where i work. i work for a huge mega medical center/university (aka the evil empire, as amy b and i call it) with thousands of other employees, so parking space is limited. hence the waiting list for a parking lot that�s at the top of a heart attack-inducing hill. i got a call on friday telling me that a space was available and did i want it. i said that i did, but i�m still not sure if i made the right decision. there are probably better parking options, but since i�ve been either taking the bus, getting rides with amy e if she�s working the same schedule, or paying around $8 a day if i drive, i think this will be better. yeah, the parking garage is a fifteen minute walk up a steep hill and $70 a month, besides; but think of all that lovely exercise, and the money is deducted from my paycheck pre-tax. i�ve probably been paying around that much a month for parking anyway. and i do loathe the bus. so�i guess i�m glad i got my ID badge programmed for the parking lot.

besides working yesterday, i also went to the arts festival with amy e. it was a lovely day out, but we were underwhelmed by the art. the vendors didn�t have much that piqued our interest, and the juried art we saw wasn�t that great. just weird sculptures. now, i adore art, but a lot of modern art just isn�t my thing. i guess it�s a matter of taste.

when i was at my grandma�s the other day, we started talking about me possibly moving up to canada with my boy. �i guess it all depends on your jobs,� she said. then she added, �as long as he has a good job and making money, that�s more important.� �more important than what?� i asked her. �well, you�re not going to be working for the rest of your life,� she explained.

excuse me?

�gram,� i began, �i didn�t go to grad school so i could be a housewife.� (i know a lot of women choose that, but it�s not for me.) �besides, we�ll need two incomes, and i want to work, anyway.� i love my gram, and she�s usually pretty cool, but some of her ideas need to be brought up-to-date. i do find it funny that she doesn�t care that my boy and i will be living in sin when we shack up, but she does think that i�ll be a housewife.

***

quote of the day:

�iran and iraq aren�t exactly BFFs.� �my co-worker A

***

np: �feels like summer� sing-sing


previous / next