today the glitterbomber is...
The current mood of glitterbomb at www.imood.com

new
older
profile
100 things
100 more things
e-mail
links and rings
quote-a-licious
guestbook
quizzes
other people
diaryland

did you miss anything?
close of 2003 - 2003-12-31
georgian grapes? in russian wine? - 2003-12-29
i'm gonna wash that database right outta my hair - 2003-12-23
acetone and toluene - 2003-12-22
grilled cheese in my future - 2003-12-21


2003-05-09
10:08 a.m.

yesterday afternoon, i interviewed the most manic woman i�ve ever met. i was getting motion sickness trying to hold a conversation with her. from the minute she walked into the restaurant until the minute she left, she was a blur of motion. she was really fun to talk to, though. she was funny and open and freely admitted she has a issues with being manic and hyperactive. when we finished the interview, she told me that she could tell that i had been really listening to her and that i was truly interested in what she was telling me. she also mentioned that she could tell that i could relate to her, even though her story is outside of my realm of experience, and that i wasn�t passing judgment on her. it was a wonderful compliment. i mean, i truly am interested in what all of my subjects have to say; hearing people�s stories is one of my favorite parts about my job. i�m glad my interest comes through and that people can feel comfortable telling me things in a mental health context. it makes me a better interviewer, and it gets better information for the studies i do. besides, if i ever hope to be a psychologist, my patients better well be comfortable opening up to me.

we�ve been getting thunderstorms lately. i look forward to them every spring. there�s just something about them. hearing the distant thunder, watching the clouds roll in, watching for streaks of lightning. there�s something cozy about snuggling indoors during a storm.

***

the friday five

1. Would you consider yourself an organized person? Why or why not?
i get teased because i can be so organized. it just makes life easier for me. it saves time because i know where everything is, and i don�t have to waste time looking for what i want.

2. Do you keep some type of planner, organizer, calendar, etc. with you, and do you use it regularly?
i keep my dayplanner on me all the time. i use it to keep track of meetings and things for work, but i also use it for personal things, as well. otherwise, i�d forget all of my appointments. i also use it to keep track of various lists (shopping, to-do), carry coupons and postage stamps, write reminder notes to myself, and to look up addresses and phone numbers.

3. Would you say that your desk is organized right now?
both my computer table at home and my desk at work are. if i let them get too cluttered, i�d never find anything. my desk at work tends to have papers strewn all over it from whatever project i�m working on, but i usually take time out once or twice a week to straighten up.

4. Do you alphabetize CDs, books, and DVDs, or does it not matter?
because i like to find what i�m looking for quickly, they are alphabetized. call me anal, but i rarely lose things or waste time searching for them.

5. What's the hardest thing you've ever had to organize?
my life. ha.

***

quote of the day:

"i have a tendency to smoke crack every now and then." �manic woman from yesterday


previous / next