today the glitterbomber is...
The current mood of glitterbomb at www.imood.com

new
older
profile
100 things
100 more things
e-mail
links and rings
quote-a-licious
guestbook
quizzes
other people
diaryland

did you miss anything?
close of 2003 - 2003-12-31
georgian grapes? in russian wine? - 2003-12-29
i'm gonna wash that database right outta my hair - 2003-12-23
acetone and toluene - 2003-12-22
grilled cheese in my future - 2003-12-21


2003-05-07
8:03 p.m.

sniff. sniff. hack. i am the human phlegm wad.

actually, i�m feeling much better despite the, um, productive nature of my coughs. i have a lot more energy, and i�m feeling a lot less spacy. (acting it is another matter entirely.) i�m glad because i was getting really tired of laying on the couch watching inane daytime tv. i guess i looked pretty unhealthy yesterday at work because my boss sent me home. it was after a data meeting, and anyone would look unhealthy after one of those things. i half-heartedly protested, but i went home anyway. i guess i really did need the rest. my boy� was also home sick (i can�t keep my germs to myself), so i talked to him on the phone a couple times off and on.

i must crow a bit about my long distance service. the one i previously had was way expensive, almost a dollar a minute to canada, so we rarely got to talk on the phone. about a month and a half ago, i signed up for verizon�s new unlimited long distance plan, and it makes my life so much happier. now the boy� and i get to talk all the time, and i don�t have to worry about peak times and all of that. we can talk when we want for as long as we want. i�m as pleased as punch. the phone company, on the other hand, just may kick me off because of all the minutes i use. *evil laugh*

oh and speaking of the phone, a certain department store has been calling me at least once a day for a few weeks now. when they first started calling, i thought it might be related to the credit card i have for them, even though there should not have been a problem. one afternoon, i called the 800 number that was left on my machine and sat through an annoying recording that told me my balance, credit limit, payment due date, etc. just as i thought, there were no problems there, so when i got a real person on the line, i explained the situation, and she transferred me to the credit department. here is, roughly, the conversation i had with the woman there:
credit woman: credit department. i understand you want to make a payment.
me: no, i�m just returning a phone call that someone left with me. i�m not sure why they called. i don�t owe anything.
c.w.: i�m showing no record that anyone called you.
me: what? you�ve called at least three times this week.
c.w.: there�s no record of any calls to you. there is no reason for us to be calling you.
me: i�m not making this up. someone called me and left messages. why would i be calling otherwise?
c.w.: i�m not saying you�re making it up. there�s just no record of anyone calling you.
me: will you make a note of all of this so that they quit harassing me?
c.w.: no one�s harassing you, ma�am. i�ll make a note of it, and you won�t be receiving any phone calls.

the next day, i got another phone call, and they still have not stopped. that was almost two weeks ago. now, do i call them back and risk being thought crazy, or do i just let it go, and maybe they�ll give up? if i were amy b, i�d probably boycott them.

amy b and i trekked down to the greek food festival for lunch today. the food was okay; i�ve had much better, though the desserts were yum. it turned out to be a who�s who down there. we ran into elizabeth and her friend brooke, and i saw a guy i went to college with, which was kind of weird. it turns out he�s working across the street at my old grad school. we used to hang out with the same group of friends, though i never knew him all that well. apparently, there are a lot of alumni from my college who are living in pittsburgh.

i got back to work after lunch to find a man under my desk, attempting to connect my phone. it took him just about an hour, but after all this time in my new cube, i finally have a phone. this is a joyous occasion.

***

quote of the day:

"the only person who knows my secret ingredients is my dog." �patient at the clinic (i pray she was talking about the baked bean commercials)

***

np: candyflip "redhills road"


previous / next