today the glitterbomber is...
The current mood of glitterbomb at www.imood.com

new
older
profile
100 things
100 more things
e-mail
links and rings
quote-a-licious
guestbook
quizzes
other people
diaryland

did you miss anything?
close of 2003 - 2003-12-31
georgian grapes? in russian wine? - 2003-12-29
i'm gonna wash that database right outta my hair - 2003-12-23
acetone and toluene - 2003-12-22
grilled cheese in my future - 2003-12-21


2003-03-05
9:18 p.m.

i thought that today would be a long, busy, stressful day, but it turned out not to be like that at all, thank god. my boss was going to observe my interview this morning at the clinic; i was kinda dreading it. i got to the clinic a bit early, so i sat with the receptionist in her office for a while and bitched about the director of the clinic with her. she hates him more than i do, which is saying a lot. some residents of crossroads, the rehab facility across the street, came in for appointments, so we chatted with them for a while. one guy called me "tight" because i don�t eat red meat or pork. i am assuming being "tight," in this context anyway, is a good thing. crossroads is pretty strict about letting the guys out, so a couple of them got sent back because they were gone too long.

there is a room off of the waiting room with a tv/vcr in it. patients bring in movies and just hang out and watch them. (i should add that there are always patients hanging out all over the clinic. even if they don�t have appointments. so i know a lot of the regulars by now.) i went into the tv room to ask the guy who called me "tight" if he wanted to be in my study. after we scheduled an appointment, he started talking to me about the movie that was playing, so i ended up sitting and watching it with the guys from rehab.

when my boss showed up, she found me watching the bourne identity and chatting away with those guys�talking about the movie, being on drugs, what it�s like to be homeless, the food in rehab, etc. she was infinitely pleased that i was interacting with the patients. ultimately, my appointment was a no-show, so we left�i�ve escaped observation for the time being. as we were walking out, she told me i was a great ethnographer. i told her i just like talking to people. hell, if she wants to think i�m a superstar, that is all right with me. i still think i�m a slacker.

so i went back to my good old cube and my beloved database. i took a break to meet with a woman about being in a lupus study. i am going to be a "healthy control" in the study. basically, i answered some questions about my health and gave a little blood. i�m getting ten dollars for it. i�ll be going to go back and give more blood, probably about nine more times, but that won�t be for months. i did it mostly because one of the lab techs is the sister of a co-worker, but the money is nice, though i won�t see the $100 all at once.

the woman who signed me up and took my blood was a gusher. she asked me a million questions about my education and job, and positively gushed about it. i am not saying this to brag, believe me. it was irritating. i just wanted her to shut up, take my blood, and let me go back to my cube and my database. i almost lost it when she said, "your parents must be so proud of you." i really wanted to tell her that my mother is dead and my father hates me, but i held my tongue� i guess she was only trying to be nice, but it seemed put on to me.

then tonight i had a home visit interview with a woman in our moms study. she was a joy to interview�friendly and open, and she wasn�t exceptionally chatty, so we were done quickly. her daughter was old enough to be interviewed and old enough so that she could fill out the questionnaires herself, which was an added bonus. i had visions of being there three hours, but it only took half that time.

***

i saw an abnormally high number of people wearing berets today. am i missing something?

***

my neighbor, who i affectionately call "fuckface," woke me up at 5 this morning when he was in the shower. yes, his showers are that loud. then he took another one at 8 AM. what exactly does one do at 6 AM the constitutes the need for 2 showers? again, am i missing something here? faithful readers will remember that "fuckface" and i have an ongoing war. (have i written about the laundry incident? i must have written about the laundry incident�)

***

because i am a dork, i made this picture of my cat my wallpaper for my computer at work. please note the size of that damn paw. and the two thumbs. yes, my cat is a freak.

***

done rambling now. you may all go back to your lives.

***

np: capitol k "capitol beat sticky"


previous / next