today the glitterbomber is...
The current mood of glitterbomb at www.imood.com

new
older
profile
100 things
100 more things
e-mail
links and rings
quote-a-licious
guestbook
quizzes
other people
diaryland

did you miss anything?
close of 2003 - 2003-12-31
georgian grapes? in russian wine? - 2003-12-29
i'm gonna wash that database right outta my hair - 2003-12-23
acetone and toluene - 2003-12-22
grilled cheese in my future - 2003-12-21


2002-11-26
11:39 a.m.

i am in love with a kitten. yesterday, i did a home visit at a woman's house, and when i walked into the living room, in came the cutest kitten. she is gray stripey and just damn cute. when i asked her mommy what her name was, she answered "kitty" in a sheepish voice. "um, that's what my cat's name is," i told her. kitty was my assistant for my interview, going after my pen, chewing my papers, and attacking my hand and leaping onto my arm. *sigh* i get to go back today to finish the interview. i'm bringing some toys that my kitty doesn't play with. is it sad that my date with a kitten is helping me get through this day?

actually, my whole interview yesterday was such a positive experience for me. i made a great connection with the woman and her son, and she and i had a great chat about having anxiety and depression and being on medication. when we finished up, i drove them to the bank because they had no car, and i was cold and rainy.

this part of my work is my favorite. i love making these sorts of connections with people and doing what i can to help them. many of the women that i see are in bad situations...very little money, past history of abuse, kids in trouble, their own mental health problems. it can be hard to see so much of that, but these moms appreciate our study because we take the time to listen to them. most of them don't have that in their lives. we also give them so much respect (they deserve it but don't get as much as they should) and conduct the interviews on their terms. i think they really appreciate that. it gives me the warm fuzzies when one of my "moms" tells me how much they like being in our study or when one hugs me or invites me back. it makes the rest of my job a lot easier to take.

***

chicks%20on%20speed
Which Electroclash Tour Act Are You?

brought to you by Quizilla

***

quote of the day:

"the only thing worse than cow is ground cow." -amy e


previous / next