today the glitterbomber is...
The current mood of glitterbomb at www.imood.com

new
older
profile
100 things
100 more things
e-mail
links and rings
quote-a-licious
guestbook
quizzes
other people
diaryland

did you miss anything?
close of 2003 - 2003-12-31
georgian grapes? in russian wine? - 2003-12-29
i'm gonna wash that database right outta my hair - 2003-12-23
acetone and toluene - 2003-12-22
grilled cheese in my future - 2003-12-21


2002-11-25
10:43 a.m.

last week, i mentioned that my boss wanted me to plan a holiday party at a clinic where we'll be doing our research. i also mentioned that it threw me into a panic attack. i told myself to try to not freak out about it but to just try to go about it calmly and get as much information as i could so i could make a good plan of attack. so i emailed my boss and asked her if she wanted a caterer and, most importantly, if our grant would pay for everything.

she isn't sure if the grant will pay for it. if we want it to, we have to list our expenses as "refreshments" instead of "party for lots of people." yeah, good luck on that one.

then she went on to say that if we get a caterer, the grant definitely won't pay for it and "do you like to cook? want to plan to spend a few of your work days planning and executing a large party?"

let us take a moment to laugh at the absurdity of those questions.

i can barely cook for myself. it is an event when i cook for others. not to mention that i have no confidence when it comes to my cooking...like i am going to subject 75 people to my culinary skils. and just where the hell do i have the space to make all this food? maybe i can get my sister to help me. she's actually good at this stuff.

it was hard to get up and go to work this morning after a fabulous weekend with my boy. we wandered about downtown, went to a good-bye party for winfrey (who is leaving for africa in a week), ate too many krispy kreme donuts, saw the new harry potter movie with amy e and beth, and got so stoned we couldn't move. we always have good wholesome fun...doing drugs, eating too much junk food, giving each other bruises from playing punchbuggy, etc. i adore my boy.

***

quotes of the day:

"why the hell are we having a meeting on a monday morning? we should all just go home." -dr. c., during said meeting

"i wasn't awake, so i must have been sleeping." -bill

"i got a master's degree instead of getting knocked up." -amy e


previous / next