today the glitterbomber is...
The current mood of glitterbomb at www.imood.com

new
older
profile
100 things
100 more things
e-mail
links and rings
quote-a-licious
guestbook
quizzes
other people
diaryland

did you miss anything?
close of 2003 - 2003-12-31
georgian grapes? in russian wine? - 2003-12-29
i'm gonna wash that database right outta my hair - 2003-12-23
acetone and toluene - 2003-12-22
grilled cheese in my future - 2003-12-21


2002-05-14
10:51 p.m.

today was such a wasted day. well, most of it, anyway. i started out being all productive at work. i was quite proud of myself. then my printer decided not to work anymore, right when i had a million power point slides to print out. grrr. then i high-tailed it to what was possibly the world's most boring conference. yesterday, the boss-lady informed me that i had to go to an IRB videoconference. for those of you not in the know, IRB stands for "institutional review board," and they are the superstars who keep research somewhat ethical. my boss' plan is to have me become an "IRB maven," in her words. that apparently means that i have to attend boring four-hour conferences. i left after three hours. honestly, why stay and pull my hair out when i could be doing more productive things.

i deemed going to home depot more productive. somehow, i managed to rack up sixty-five dollars in plants. i'm still trying to figure out how that happened. confession: i am a schizophrenic gardener. i love plants, but i can't be bothered to learn anything about them. so i buy what's pretty or smells nice. i don't look at soil conditions or sunlight, i just hope they grow. i have marigolds, impatiens, vinca, lavender, basil, jalepenos, cilantro, poppies, a daylily, and some other cool flowers whose names i can't remember. phase I of turning my deck into the hanging gardens of babylon is complete. phase II requires buying more pots. i did go a little crazy today.

so i was planting and listening to music and thoroughly enjoying myself when my sister called. she needed to borrow twenty dollars. i must be psychotic because i said yes. i thought she wasn't going to stay long, but she ended up staying many hours. during the course of those hours, we went to the ATM twice (she needed another twenty for god knows what), we bought potting soil (i ran out), amy e stopped over, and my laptop got possessed.

i'm still not sure what happened to the laptop, but i spent literally an hour on hold with tech support, listening to the eighties' greatest hits, only to have the tech support guy tell me to take the battery out and put it back in. he told me, "windows xp don't like a lot of stuff." o-kay.

i had a million things i wanted to do night. i even had a list, dammit. a LIST! figures i'd get nothing accomplished.

well. tomorrow is another day.

poland update still to come. i promise.

***

quote of the day:

"i thought the pet shop boys were a rap group." -my sister


previous / next