today the glitterbomber is...
The current mood of glitterbomb at www.imood.com

new
older
profile
100 things
100 more things
e-mail
links and rings
quote-a-licious
guestbook
quizzes
other people
diaryland

did you miss anything?
close of 2003 - 2003-12-31
georgian grapes? in russian wine? - 2003-12-29
i'm gonna wash that database right outta my hair - 2003-12-23
acetone and toluene - 2003-12-22
grilled cheese in my future - 2003-12-21


2003-07-29
11:54 a.m.

i made a trip to the mall yesterday after work. the mall is not a place that i frequent often, though i�m almost embarrassed to admit that there once was a time in my life that the opposite was true. i�ve become like my mother in respect to shopping at the mall. she went at times to avoid the crowds, and she only went to the stores where she needed something. i can�t quite pinpoint when the change in me took place. was it when i began to get extremely annoyed at the hordes of teenagers (aka �cool kids�) crowding out the rest of us? was it when i realized that i wasn�t much interested in most of what the mall has to offer anymore? (it seems like 90% of the stores cater to the cool kids.) or was it when i decided to spend less money? whatever the case, the mall is now a stranger to me.

i had good reason to go yesterday. i had some rockin� coupons to use up. free undies from victoria�s secret, $10 off any purchase at the bath and body works, and some money off at hallmark. i got some good stuff and only spent something like $6.50. nice.

the annoying salespeople are one of the things that have always turned me away from the mall. i hate it when they hover. i just can�t shop when someone is practically following me around and asking me if i need anything every ten seconds. look, lady, when i say i�m �just looking,� it means exactly that. if i need something, i�ll find you. it�s gotten so that i�ve left stores rather than be hounded like that. i try to be nice, but then i just get annoyed and turn kind of snarky. at least i was in and out of stores quick yesterday.

***

i had a crazy dream in which my car was stolen. i think my sister had something to do with it. in the dream, my mother was alive, and she was helping me try to figure out if it was, in fact, my sister that stole my car. it was very odd. i had another dream over the weekend where my mother was alive. i often have dreams like that, though she�s been gone for over eight years. it�s not creepy or sad in any way. just strange.

***

things are quite slow at work lately. since one of the studies is winding down, most of us don�t have enough to do. it always seems as if i�m either swamped or bored. it could be worse, i guess. this morning, we had fresh fruit and madelines to celebrate the end of our data meetings. yay for no more data meetings. the data is checked and clean and ready to analyze. and not by me, thank god.

***

on saturday, i received a strange piece of mail. it was from some company from which we had life insurance policies. or at least, i think we all had policies from there. it�s one of those family things that i didn�t know about as it was happening, and i probably will never know about, much like my savings account that i had since i was born. it somehow got cleaned out, and the bank couldn�t tell me who did it. anyway, the insurance company sent me a reissued check for another premium refund check that my mother never cashed. the first check was sent in 1993. i guess they recently discovered that it was never cashed, so they sent another one. why now, ten years later? and why me? it might make more sense if they�d sent it to my father. i have no idea how they tracked me down. i�d love to know the story behind this one, but i guess i never will. now i�m $8.73 richer. oh boy.

***

quote of the day:

my boss: we have this farmer friend�
her boss: how do you have any farmer friends?


previous / next