today the glitterbomber is...
The current mood of glitterbomb at www.imood.com

new
older
profile
100 things
100 more things
e-mail
links and rings
quote-a-licious
guestbook
quizzes
other people
diaryland

did you miss anything?
close of 2003 - 2003-12-31
georgian grapes? in russian wine? - 2003-12-29
i'm gonna wash that database right outta my hair - 2003-12-23
acetone and toluene - 2003-12-22
grilled cheese in my future - 2003-12-21


2003-06-06
3:16 p.m.

i woke up at about a quarter to seven this morning, and as i was laying in bed, i thought i heard a radio playing. i assumed it was one of my neighbors, but after a while, i realized that it was coming from outside. i peered out of my bedroom window and saw two men wearing black shirts with �police� on the back. they were standing in the alley that connects my street to the next street over, and they were looking over at the next street. i couldn�t tell what they were looking at, but they got into an unmarked SUV and drove away just then. when i went back to bed, i was kind of hoping something would happen. i wanted to go out on my porch and take pictures of it.

this morning, i had yet another interview at someone�s house. today, i took a new employee named melissa. she�s going to be doing an intervention for our study at one of the agencies where we recruit subjects. our PI wanted me to take her on an interview, so off we went. when we got to the subject�s house, she wouldn�t let us into the house. i think it was really dirty, and she didn�t want us to see it. so we all sat on the dirty front porch and did the interview. there were no chairs; melissa put her hand in something sticky. good thing i wore jeans today instead of the skirt i�d planned on. the subject had some feathers sticking in her hair. i really hope they were just from a feather pillow.

we had another database training today, and i very nearly got into it with stick-up-the-butt woman, my anal retentive co-worker. she thought i should have added something to the database that would but the code choices for each question. i told her i didn�t do it because it was too much work. she said, �well, don�t you think it would be better that way?� i replied, rather snippily, �do you want them in there?� �don�t say it like that to me, courtney,� she countered. �it�s not my study. it�s not my database.� so if it�s not your study, why the hell do you care so much? our PI saw the exchange, but i could tell she was on my side by the look she gave me.

now that everyone can see my finished database, they�re realizing just how much damn work i put into that thing. everyone says it looks great and that i must have worked hard. damn right, i did. it�s nice to finally get some recognition for it.

my hair turned out darker than i expected, but i like it. it�s kind of a burgundy-black. i�m not used to having my hair this dark anymore, since the ends were turning kind of orange-y. my hair matches the color of my glasses frame now. i think people wonder if i do that on purpose, because it does happen sometimes.

i�m glad today is going by fast. days when my boy is coming to visit me always seem to drag on forever. it should only be a couple of hours now.


previous / next