today the glitterbomber is...
The current mood of glitterbomb at www.imood.com

new
older
profile
100 things
100 more things
e-mail
links and rings
quote-a-licious
guestbook
quizzes
other people
diaryland

did you miss anything?
close of 2003 - 2003-12-31
georgian grapes? in russian wine? - 2003-12-29
i'm gonna wash that database right outta my hair - 2003-12-23
acetone and toluene - 2003-12-22
grilled cheese in my future - 2003-12-21


2003-04-21
6:08 p.m.

i got a new cube at work today. i knew it was going to happen. most of the inhabitants of my office suite (aka cubetopia) moved out and into another building, taking with them just about everything in the suite that wasn�t nailed down. now we have no mailboxes, refrigerator, printer, or microwave, but they left a lot of dust and garbage. anyway, our suite is on two levels, connected by a ramp. most of the people on one of the projects i work on are on the lower half of the suite, and i was on the upper half. the plan was for me to move down to a cube in the lower half as soon as the other people moved out. this morning after a meeting, i made several trips up and down the ramp, moving the contents of my old cube�files, books, assorted kinder egg toys, computer�to my first new one. it was a good cube�slightly larger than my old one and closer to the windows. i was all moved in and waiting for the computer person to set me up when my boss came by to see how things were going. she looked at my first new cube and at a second vacant one. "you can have this one if you want," she told me, gesturing to the second cube. i was speechless; it is the best cube in the suite. (if you have ever worked in cubeland, this is a big deal.) "are you sure?" i asked. shirley, aka stick-up-the-butt woman, my anal-retentive coworker, was going to take that cube but decided to stay where she was. i was thrilled at my luck and immediately moved in to my new space.

my second new cube is a "senior cube." yeah, that's really what the bigger cubes are called. it�s big and faces the windows. that side of the building looks like a greenhouse, and one side of my cube is all those windows. now i get sun and a view. it�s less private than my last cube because of the way that the open side faces, but i can definitely deal with that. someone more senior than i should really have gotten that cube, so it really was luck that i got it. i almost didn�t take it because i thought it wasn�t fair, but i�m not that nice. i feel like i got the promotion (without the raise). i�m going to bring in more plants for my window.

i went up to visit the boy� this weekend. we had some ups and downs, but it was fun overall. friday, we bummed around toronto a bit, then had dinner in chinatown with some of his friends. after that, he and i split and went to see the groove armada show. the show rocked. the show was sold out, and the place was packed, but we got there early enough to get a spot up against the railing on the mezzanine. finally, a show where i could see everything without having to crane my neck and get annoyed at all the tall people in front of me!

on saturday, my boy surprised me by taking me to the butterfly conservatory in niagara falls. it was very cool. huge, colorful butterflies were flying around everywhere. it was the biggest and best butterfly room i�ve been in. we both forgot our cameras, so we�ll have to make a return trip.

i ate far too much easter candy this weekend. i can�t help it. it�s so. damn. good. we made ourselves sick from jelly belly jelly beans on the way back from toronto. it was a good kind of sick, though. of all the candy i got this easter, my favorite present is the set of windshield wipers the boy put on my car from me. i really needed them, especially since the idiots who fixed my car last weekend didn�t put any on, despite my telling them to do it at least three times. i�m glad someone listens to me.

***

quote of the day:

me: what are you laughing at?
my boy: you�re being cute.
me: not on purpose!

***

np: c.o.c.o. "move on"


previous / next