today the glitterbomber is...
The current mood of glitterbomb at www.imood.com

new
older
profile
100 things
100 more things
e-mail
links and rings
quote-a-licious
guestbook
quizzes
other people
diaryland

did you miss anything?
close of 2003 - 2003-12-31
georgian grapes? in russian wine? - 2003-12-29
i'm gonna wash that database right outta my hair - 2003-12-23
acetone and toluene - 2003-12-22
grilled cheese in my future - 2003-12-21


2003-02-19
11:49 a.m.

oh my. i have just had the funniest patient interview i have ever had. it was an interview for the nutrition study i�m doing with patients with mental illnesses. i asked my subject, a 50-year-old man, what kind of exercise he gets. "sit-ups," he told me, "but when i start to hurt, i stop and go get something to eat." "do you get any other exercise?" i asked. "sex," he replied. i burst out laughing. "i�m tellin� you the truth, courtney! it�s a workout! when i�m done, i�m sittin� at the edge of the bed, huffin� and puffin�, and my friend�s sittin� there asking me if i�m all right, and i say, �just give me a minute, baby.� most of the time, the man does all the work anyway; the woman just lies there. i tell you, you use muscles you didn�t even know you had. [i�m still laughing] hey, courtney, you asked me a question, and i�m tellin� you!"

the entire interview was funny like that. somehow, he found out that my boyTM lives in canadaland (i�m still trying to figure out how he got that out of me). "if my girl lived that far away, it would be over," he informed me. "i�d tell her, �hey baby, i need love on a regular basis.�" he looked at me. "you must be in love. well, you�re young yet anyway. what are you, 17?" "i�m 26!" i protested.

we also talked about depression a bit, since that�s his diagnosis. he was completely shocked when i told him that i have depression, too. "i never in a million years would have guessed that someone like you could be depressed," he told me. "what do you mean?" i asked. he answered, "you seem happy; you�re jovial, smart, upwardly mobile�you have a lot going for you." "depression affects anyone," i said. mental illness is sneaky like that.

i�m still smiling from that interview. it totally made my day.


previous / next