today the glitterbomber is...
The current mood of glitterbomb at www.imood.com

new
older
profile
100 things
100 more things
e-mail
links and rings
quote-a-licious
guestbook
quizzes
other people
diaryland

did you miss anything?
close of 2003 - 2003-12-31
georgian grapes? in russian wine? - 2003-12-29
i'm gonna wash that database right outta my hair - 2003-12-23
acetone and toluene - 2003-12-22
grilled cheese in my future - 2003-12-21


2003-01-14
7:57 p.m.

i have taken to wearing my scarf at work. not for the oh-so-european fashion statement but just to keep warm. my coworkers give me strange looks, but hell, they do that anyway. maybe it's the fact that i threatened to kick two different people on three separate occasions today. all in fun, of course. i don't threaten the ones i'd really like to kick.

today, my boss and i met with the new director of the clinic where we'll be doing our research. (read: where i will be doing our research) the man was nice enough--energetic, affable, etc. but he just reminded me too much of the dean at my old job (without the meanness). when the dean was new, he was the same way. he had energy! and wanted to make changes! right away! i guess most people in new positions of power are like that. they're not entirely sure of themselves, but they want to assert their power and make a good impression. so they try to meet with as many people as possible and get involved. it's nice to get enthusiastic support for our study, but i can't help but be a bit leery of someone who just seemed to offer his support without really taking the time to listen to what it's about (he was too busy being enthusiastic about it to listen).

oh, and another thing...and this annoyed me somewhat...he asked my boss for her card but didn't ask me for one. okay, the fact that i don't have business cards doesn't matter. he didn't know that. maybe i took it too personally, but i felt kinda small. i'm pretty much running the damn study; it's just that my boss has her name on the grant.

this morning, i almost got run over again--while i was IN the crosswalk and right NEXT to the "yield to pedestrians" sign. so i pointed the sign out to the driver. yes, i am turning into a bitter old person. i am fully aware of that.

***

quote of the day:

"men always think that they're going to run everything." -my boss


previous / next