today the glitterbomber is...
The current mood of glitterbomb at www.imood.com

new
older
profile
100 things
100 more things
e-mail
links and rings
quote-a-licious
guestbook
quizzes
other people
diaryland

did you miss anything?
close of 2003 - 2003-12-31
georgian grapes? in russian wine? - 2003-12-29
i'm gonna wash that database right outta my hair - 2003-12-23
acetone and toluene - 2003-12-22
grilled cheese in my future - 2003-12-21


2002-12-14
12:07 p.m.

i am feeling drained from therapy this morning. the therapist said something that made a connection and struck a chord in me, and the tears started flowing. now i have a headache and feel like crying some more. i don't want to, though...sometimes it just makes me feel worse. getting better is a tough business and hard work for me.

the conference yesterday was actually good. i learned a lot, and most of it was pretty interesting. the first speaker was a geneticist from wales. he quoted shakespeare; he used a pre-raphaelite painting to illustrate a point; he had a dreamy accent. i had an hour-long crush on that man. (my fetish for cute accents helped.) too bad the other speakers weren't quite so compelling.

i left mid-afternoon because my boss was having a little get-together at her house for the people on my project. people were having more fun than i expected, so i enjoyed myself more because of that. she made veggie chili and tons of sugar cookie dough, and we baked and decorated cookies. actually, just the ladies my age did. the other ones just chatted. i monopolized the rocket ship and star cookie cutters. i mixed food coloring with egg yolk to paint them pretty colors before popping them in the oven.

then amy e and i retraced my steps from thursday night and had dinner and went shopping at the same places i went with my sister. it was more fun last night, though. and i spent significantly less money.

i just want to stay home and read for the rest of today. it's slushy and sleety outside. but i have to take my sister to the dentist, then it's off to grandma's to celebrate sis' birthday and an early xmas, since grandma and my aunt will be in florida for the real xmas. so at least i'll head home with some cash today. that sounds terrible, but there has been so much tension in my family lately that it's not fun to get together anymore. it used to be lots of chatting and laughing, and i left feeling good. now it's just another duty.

***

quotes of the day:
(welsh geneticist edition)

on his job: "there must be better ways to earn a living."

on chance: "you're more likely to be killed by a piece of office furniture than to win the lottery."

on technology: "being a male, i like technology, even though i don't really understand it."

***

np: capitol k "lagoon"


previous / next