today the glitterbomber is...
The current mood of glitterbomb at www.imood.com

new
older
profile
100 things
100 more things
e-mail
links and rings
quote-a-licious
guestbook
quizzes
other people
diaryland

did you miss anything?
close of 2003 - 2003-12-31
georgian grapes? in russian wine? - 2003-12-29
i'm gonna wash that database right outta my hair - 2003-12-23
acetone and toluene - 2003-12-22
grilled cheese in my future - 2003-12-21


2002-10-02
9:47 a.m.

this weekend, i realized just how abrasive my family is. i was used to their "quirks" (to put it politely), but i was hyperalert to everything they did this weekend, since it was bill's (see, the boy does have a name!) first time meeting them. friday night, we had dinner with my father, stepmother, and grandparents. i really really didn't want to go, but i had a sense of obligation. and i wanted my birthday money. as usual, my dad picked the restaurant, and as usual, there wasn't much on the menu i'd eat. he prefers restaurants where steak comprises 85% of the menu. just once, i'd like to be able to pick where we eat (especially when i am the birthday girl). maybe that is too much to ask for. so i suffered through my father's self-absorbed and snarky comments. then we went back to the house for cake, and he read his gun magazines. not much fun, but at least the simpsons were on.

saturday was more family fun at my other grandma's. the poor boy was so bored...i felt terrible. my cousin ran her mouth and made offensive comments. i have family members who would never admit to being racist, homophobic, etc., yet they make those types of comments. they know they offend me, but i know they'll never stop doing it. however, i don't appreciate them saying offensive things in front of someone they don't know. it's wrong in so many ways.

abrasive was the word that came to mind when i thought about it later. i've had enough family fun to last me a while, i think. possibly even until thanksgiving.

the rest of my birthday weekend was great, though. i spent a lot of time with my boy, and we got to have lunch with winfrey before she left for a two-month stay in montana. i got lots of fabulous birthday presents, too...drug paraphenalia, the new onion book, various things that smell yummy.

amy e and i made halloween candy monday night. that is proof that we are getting old: making candy on my birthday. we did a little shopping and had a yummy birthday dinner, and at one point, we decided that we needed to make cute orange pumpkins and white ghosts. so we bought melting chocolate and molds and set up shop in my kitchen. we have pumpkins, ghosts, chocolate cat lollipops, and chocolate-covered pretzels. and it goes without saying that they are so damn cute.

i had an unpleasant surprise when i tried to log on to my work computer yesterday. it seems that my account has expired. the medical center has a new (stupid) rule that if you don't work for them but have a computer account through them, your account expires after a year. okay, stupid rule, but i wouldn't have minded half so much if i had known about it ahead of time. so now i have to wait on paperwork, which could possibly take forever. in the meantime, there's not much i can do at work. (i'm at home now.) working at home is looking better and better.

luckily, i had thai food to look forward to all day yesterday. katrina, will, molly, and andrew took me out for a yummy dinner last night. surprisingly, i hadn't had thai food in a while, so it was especially good.

i'm doing an in-home interview today for our research project at work. i'm starting to be doing more of those, and that's making me feel better about my work situation. and speaking of work, i better get there soon.

***

quotes of the day:

"nothing like crackhead roofers." -andrew

katrina: i look like a potsmoking surfer.
me: i'd like to be a potsmoking surfer.
will: me, too. hell, i'm a potsmoking painter.

"it's so much better to be a grown-up, even if you owe people money." -amy e

amy e: drawers to sort your silverware.
me: georges seurat your silverware?


previous / next