today the glitterbomber is...
The current mood of glitterbomb at www.imood.com

new
older
profile
100 things
100 more things
e-mail
links and rings
quote-a-licious
guestbook
quizzes
other people
diaryland

did you miss anything?
close of 2003 - 2003-12-31
georgian grapes? in russian wine? - 2003-12-29
i'm gonna wash that database right outta my hair - 2003-12-23
acetone and toluene - 2003-12-22
grilled cheese in my future - 2003-12-21


2001-12-11
3:02 p.m.

so. well. yes. word.

just got to work today. went on yet another interview this morning and stopped at my dad's again to have lunch with him. maybe it's beginning to be a habit. hell, free food and digital cable (when i can figure out how to work it)...more than i normally have.

i promised a tale of the international din-din. (i also promised it would be yesterday, but as i felt like someone was ripping my lower spine out with a crowbar, i wasn't up to it. sometimes it's hard to be a girl.)

apologies to my friends who have heard this one before (and probably countless times), but here it goes... (it is somewhat long and involved and boring, so you may want to stop here.)

my friends tammy and juley drove cross country for two months. tammy asked me if i would take care of her bills while she was gone and collect the rent from the woman who is subletting her apartment. i didn't mind doing it (really), but i had no way of contacting her subletter, who had no phone or email. one thursday night, tammy called me from the road to berate me for not getting her unemployment information to her because it was due sunday. that was the first i'd heard about it and didn't appreciate being hassled about it, especially since a) my sister just landed herself in the hospital again, b) i had to clean my sister's stuff out of the apartment practically all by myself, and c) my birthday was sunday, and all this mess wasn't making for a very happy day. i tried to explain to tammy that her subletter had not contacted me, despite having all of my phone numbers and my email address, and i still had no way of getting in touch with her myself. tammy offered nothing but whining about it, and she called me twice on friday to bitch some more. i left a note in the subletter's mailbox explaining the situation, but she never got in touch with me. so what the hell was i to do? for some reason, the subletter was in touch with tammy's boyfriend, and he got the info. from her. tammy called me to tell me about it, and i got the impression that she was pissed about it, and she said that her boyfreind would be taking care of the bills from then on. he acted ultra-suspicious when he picked up the checkbook from my office, which further annoyed me. (none of us like him anyway.)

fast forward from september to now. tammy and juley got back from their trip a little before thanksgiving. i saw tammy for the first time on friday night at the din-din, and she just about completely ignored me. we did the "hi, how are you" thing, but that's it. i feel like i'm in third grade. since she is a social worker, it's unlike her not to want to hear my side of the story, and it really irks me that she's believing some guy she's known for like three months over someone she's known for going on three years. i'm not saying i'm right or wrong, but i'd just like her to respect me a little bit.

i'm mostly angry because i thought i knew her, and i thought she'd value our friendship more than that. i don't know if she reads this or will read it, but i'm past caring at this point.

it sure felt good to vent, even though my retelling probably made no sense.

***

one of the guys who works for facilities in this building rode my bus home last night and was trading insults with another woman. he kept saying "shuky duky quack quack quack," which i found hilarious for some reason. i told officemate michael about it, so now we punctuate every sentence with it. (him: should it be "does" or "do" in this sentence? me: it's "does," so shuky duky quack quack quack.)

***

quote of the day:

"reality is for people who don't do drugs." -subject #1077 in my study


previous / next