today the glitterbomber is...
The current mood of glitterbomb at www.imood.com

new
older
profile
100 things
100 more things
e-mail
links and rings
quote-a-licious
guestbook
quizzes
other people
diaryland

did you miss anything?
close of 2003 - 2003-12-31
georgian grapes? in russian wine? - 2003-12-29
i'm gonna wash that database right outta my hair - 2003-12-23
acetone and toluene - 2003-12-22
grilled cheese in my future - 2003-12-21


2001-11-26
10:34 a.m.

well, i'm back. tired, disoriented, trying to figure out what the hell i'm supposed to be doing here at work. it was a lovely six days off...very relaxing...now i just have to get myself back in work mode. alas.

the pigface show last monday rocked. it was one of the best shows i've been to ever, i think. there was a lot of good energy there. i got drunk and obnoxious. probably. i don't remember too well. i just remember yelling things and ogling the lead singer of gravity kills. amy b and i both had hellish days, so we definitely needed that atmosphere. i decided that i hate my class more than ever now. i was supposed to lead the discussion that night. every week, we have four articles to read and questions to answer about them, and a few people in the class, the "discussion leaders," typically go over the answers for everyone else. now, to me, that's not leading discussion. that's not even discussing. so i took the opportunity to try to get the class going with a good dialogue and hopefully bring up good issues related to kids and families, which is what the class is about but which we never talk about. (my grammar sucks here.) my two articles were on HIV, so i gave some demographic info and brought up some issues and questions to try to get people talking. i pretty much got hostile stares because everyone wanted the answers to the questions. i gave up after a bit and said, in a somewhat bitchy tone, "i'm not going to tell you guys the answers because you can do that for yourselves." (that's why it's called homework, idiots.) then the other "discussion leader" got up and gave the answers to the questions on the syphilis articles. fuck it.

finally got to spend some time with kori on tuesday. we've been talking to each other's answering machines a little too much lately. her father died recently, so she's got a lot going on. i can certainly relate. (my mother died at xmastime when i was 18.) it was great seeing kori and catching up with her, though, despite me almost crying several times during dinner.

saw harry potter and enjoyed it thoroughly. spent a lot of time at home...reading, unpacking, and generally doing a whole lot of nothing. it was great.

thanksgiving was good. i go to my grandma's every year. we are quite a matriarchy. it's me, my sister, my grandma, my aunt, my great-aunt, and my cousin. all women, since my aunt and cousin never married and my great-aunt and grandma are widows. this is my mother's family, and my father neither wants to be there nor is particularly welcome. we have a good time when we get together. we laugh and make fun of each other, and there is always way too much food (we're italian, after all).

molly, andrew, and i saw a cool exhibit at the art museum on saturday. there were dozens and dozens (well, maybe not quite that many, but a lot) of black-and-white photographs of pittsburgh in the fifties. back when it was still an industrial sort of steel town. i enjoyed it, but then, i dig photography.

rounded out the weekend by going to my dad's yesterday. mostly because i needed to do laundry, but also because i haven't seen my father and stepmother in a while. they live out in the country; it is truly a cultural experience. for extra added fun, we got to stop at the gun store on our way out to lunch. i stayed in the car. that place freaks me out inside. my father isn't a huge redneck--he went to art school, after all--but he likes his guns. at least he doesn't kill things with them.

and that, kittycats, is the abridged version of my vacation. exciting stuff, huh?

***

quote-a-rama

fed-ex guy, after chit-chatting with me in the elevator on my way back from getting lunch: don't worry. i'm not going to steal your lunch.
me: you might be disappointed; it's tofu.
f-e g: you caught me on that one.

alex (guy at the pigface show): what do you and your friend have in common with the girl with the two-tone hair?
amy b: we all have two-tone hair.

"every time i use my cheese grater, i think of you." -chris, my stepmother


previous / next