today the glitterbomber is...
The current mood of glitterbomb at www.imood.com

new
older
profile
100 things
100 more things
e-mail
links and rings
quote-a-licious
guestbook
quizzes
other people
diaryland

did you miss anything?
close of 2003 - 2003-12-31
georgian grapes? in russian wine? - 2003-12-29
i'm gonna wash that database right outta my hair - 2003-12-23
acetone and toluene - 2003-12-22
grilled cheese in my future - 2003-12-21


2003-07-31
2:53 p.m.

it�s another quiet day at work, but it hasn�t been getting to me like it usually does. i�ve been mostly coding, organizing, and entering data i collected from my nutrition class yesterday afternoon. the classes are going well. we don�t have a lot of people participating, but those that are seem to be getting a lot out of it. it�s fun to sit and talk with them and to see them learning more and feeling better. and they love the pedometers we gave them. they�re begging to keep them. we wanted them returned at the end of the program since they�re $30 each, but we might just take the loss. if they love them so much and are using them to increase their walking, they�re better off keeping them. i�m getting more confident about leading the class, and i�m able to develop and use some clinical-type skills, as well. it�s pretty damn cool.

we had a new person come to our class yesterday. i immediately recognized him/her as a man in the process of becoming a woman. it was obvious, or so i thought. he had breasts, called himself barb, wore a skirt, but in every other way he was like a man. since he came late, my boss took him in the back to get weighed and fill out questionnaires and such. when it was over, barb and my boss came back in, and i filled out a payment certificate and check for him. i went to put barb as the name, but he stopped me and told me i should put burnell. after he left, my boss and i were discussing him. she told me that he has some health issues, such as being HIV positive and taking hormones. my boss said she asked him if it was hormone replacement therapy, and she thought he said, "no, it's for my burness." she wasn�t sure what he meant, so she asked him again. he said the same thing, and she just pretended she understood. i said that maybe he was taking the hormones for a sex change. recognition dawned on her face. "he must have been saying 'breasts,'" my boss said. (barb was missing most of his top teeth, so it was kind of hard to understand him anyway.) my boss usually is, in her own words, oblivious, but i find it hilarious that it was so obvious to me, and she had no idea.

hopefully, next week i�ll be getting a check in the mail so i can go get my car fixed (finally). i mailed the estimates yesterday; i�m not sure how much mr. ohio will be giving me. i�m hoping for the average of the two estimates, but something tells me i�ll be getting the lower amount. i told him what the average price was for a three-day car rental, and he�ll be adding that on to the price of the repairs. i just hope i don�t lose out too much on this.

it�s a long weekend up in canadaland, so bill will be driving down to see me today. it�s also our one-year anniversary on saturday. one year. damn. i never thought someone would be able to put up with me for a year, but here we are. it�s gone by so fast. it�s been such a great year with him; i can�t wait to see what the next one will bring.


previous / next