today the glitterbomber is...
The current mood of glitterbomb at www.imood.com

new
older
profile
100 things
100 more things
e-mail
links and rings
quote-a-licious
guestbook
quizzes
other people
diaryland

did you miss anything?
close of 2003 - 2003-12-31
georgian grapes? in russian wine? - 2003-12-29
i'm gonna wash that database right outta my hair - 2003-12-23
acetone and toluene - 2003-12-22
grilled cheese in my future - 2003-12-21


2003-07-22
3:04 p.m.

today has been mostly characterized with me freezing at work and having to pee every five minutes because of the cold. it has been kind of slow at the old work front. i sat through a long data meeting, but i did find out that next week will be our last one. it�s not actually even going to be a meeting, just a little party to celebrate being done with the major work. i�m so glad; i sit through most of those meetings feeling like i don�t really need to be there. i have learned a lot, so i guess that has its own value. but still�

last night, i talked to the man from ohio who hit my car on saturday. he was nice enough, i suppose, but he never apologized. would it have been so difficult for him to tell me that? sure, he has to pay for the damages, but it�s very inconvenient for me to have to drive around and get two different estimates, then wait for him to mail me a check. plus, i don�t know how long the repairs will take, and i�ll be out of a car during that process. i need my car; last month, i drove 3000 miles in it! he also told me that bill�s mom, who was driving my car at the time, is �a very nervous lady� and said something about how she was so nervous that she wasn�t watching what was happening when he backed into her (i had a little trouble understanding his eastern european accent, but that was the gist). i had been calm and nice until then, but i got firm and raised my voice a little when i told him that the point was he hit me and needs to take care of this as soon as possible.

katrina gave me the name of her mechanic, so i gave him a call this morning. he informed me that they were �highly trained automotive technicians� and they �don�t do bodywork kinds of stuff.� you would have thought that i asked him to lick the dead bugs from the bumper of my car (and there are many). still, he recommended another shop to me, and i�m making amy b go there with me this afternoon. moral support and all.

while chatting online yesterday afternoon, amy e and i remembered that we�d made plans to go to ikea that day. it was a pleasant surprise. i do love ikea, even though i hardly ever buy anything anymore. i really don�t need anything for my apartment, and i�m trying to refrain from buying things because i plan on moving within a year or so. i don�t like most of the furniture in most other stores. when bill and i look in them, we walk through quickly and decide that everything is ugly and overpriced. ikea may not be the best quality out there, but the design is nice.

the pedometers i ordered for my nutrition class arrived, and i�ve been wearing one since yesterday. they�re really cool, in a nerdy sort of way. they�re nice digital ones that tell you steps and distance. there is a whole campaign to get people to walk 10,000 steps a day (about 5 miles). yesterday from noon (when i put the pedometer on) until around 10.30 or so, i walked over 8100 steps. i think that�s pretty good, considering i sit on my butt at my desk for the majority of the day. it was more than i thought i would walk, though i did have a lot of errands to run yesterday. it makes me feel like less of a lump, since the only exercise i get any more is sex, and even then, only on the weekends.

this morning, we had a thunderstorm, and a professor that works on our study (and she�s also a friend) was sitting in her office when lightning came in through the window. i don�t think she was struck, but she felt tingly and had a funny taste in her mouth. the paramedics checked her out and said she was okay, so she elected not to go to the hospital. i�m glad she wasn�t hurt. what a weird and scary thing to have happen to her. i can�t wait to talk to her and find out what happened. her office is right next to my old one, and i�m glad i�m not there anymore, because i think i would have been freaked out.


previous / next