today the glitterbomber is...
The current mood of glitterbomb at www.imood.com

new
older
profile
100 things
100 more things
e-mail
links and rings
quote-a-licious
guestbook
quizzes
other people
diaryland

did you miss anything?
close of 2003 - 2003-12-31
georgian grapes? in russian wine? - 2003-12-29
i'm gonna wash that database right outta my hair - 2003-12-23
acetone and toluene - 2003-12-22
grilled cheese in my future - 2003-12-21


2003-04-11
9:43 a.m.

i think my car is sick. yesterday after work, i went to pick up amy b from the dealership where she dropped off her car for repairs, and i noticed that my car was getting louder when i�d accelerate from a stop. when amy got in my car, i asked her to listen to it, and she said, "that�s the noise my car was making!" the noise got louder as i was driving to our various destinations, so i stopped at the garage on the way home to make an appointment to drop my car off tonight.

i�m stressed about it. not because something is wrong with my car; i realize that these things happen, especially since i drive a lot. i�ve had my car nearly a year and a half, and this is the first thing that�s gone wrong, and that is a record for me. my first two cars were absolute lemons, and their numerous and large repairs have a lot to do with the debt i have today. i�m stressed about the potential cost of the repairs i may have to get now. i pray whatever is wrong is covered by the warranty. i�m going to get new brake pads and windshield wipers, as well as my 60,000 mile check-up, while my car�s in the garage. that�s stuff i�ve been putting off.

the other night, i went to get my hair cut, and there was a man washing someone�s hair a couple sinks down from where i was having my hair washed. The man was telling her about some troubles he�d been having and how he went to the doctor and was diagnosed with depression. "so she put me on zoloft," he said. "i take paxil!" the woman told him. they started discussing their meds and eventually went to the stylist�s chair. a minute or so later, i found myself in the chair next to them, and they were still discussing their meds. i felt like i was at work. "i was afraid of the sexual side effects," the man said, "like less desire or something. but i had the opposite problem. heh heh." he muttered something to the woman, then said louder, "we�ll be going at it for an hour, and finally i have to stop and say, �i can�t do this anymore.�" really, that is too much information for me.

so, the haircut. i just got a couple inches trimmed, but i�ve been wanting to go get that done for months now. haircuts, however, are on the bottom of my priority list as far as spending money goes. i have long, curly hair (it was halfway down my back), so i can get away with not getting it trimmed too often. my ends were starting to get fuzzy, though, and the damage from dyeing it was becoming more apparent, and i wanted to do something about it. recently, i had been crying (literally, thanks to lovely side effects from the pill) to the boyTM about how i never (okay, very rarely) buy myself anything anymore because i haven�t the money. a haircut was one of the things i�d mentioned wanting for myself, so last weekend, he hid some haircut money in my bag for me to find when i unpacked. he is the best. i was tempted to give the money back, but i used it for its intended purpose. i was sickened when i paid for it, though. forty dollars, including tip. that is too damn much money for not even fifteen minutes of work, if you ask me. she didn�t even have to dry or style my hair, since i just let it air dry. this is one of the many reasons i never go get my hair cut. christ. still, my hair does look better and healthier, and i�m good for another six months.


previous / next