today the glitterbomber is...
The current mood of glitterbomb at www.imood.com

new
older
profile
100 things
100 more things
e-mail
links and rings
quote-a-licious
guestbook
quizzes
other people
diaryland

did you miss anything?
close of 2003 - 2003-12-31
georgian grapes? in russian wine? - 2003-12-29
i'm gonna wash that database right outta my hair - 2003-12-23
acetone and toluene - 2003-12-22
grilled cheese in my future - 2003-12-21


2003-03-26
10:57 a.m.

my great-aunt�s funeral was a lovely tribute to her. it brought back a lot of memories for me, and i learned some things about her, as well. i didn�t know that she�d only had an eighth-grade education or that her real name was italian for henrietta. we always thought her real name was jane. her real name, pronounced something like enriketta, morphed several times until she was called kate and had her name legally changed to catherine. (it must be a weird tradition in my family to change one�s name. my grandma went from ida, pronounced with a long-e sound, to edith, and my grandfather went from roger to bill because he never liked the name roger. i am sticking with "courtney.") aunt kate�s son gave a eulogy that brought everyone to tears, and he buried his mother with a box of polenta because that�s what she�d cook for family dinners. if she knew it was instant polenta, she�d have a fit, though.

i think the extended family was surprised and pleased to see me there. since my mom died, i haven�t been as close with them as i used to be. i want to try to get to know them again, but i think we sometimes feel a little shy and awkward, especially my cousins. i have a lot of second and third (and however the relationships go) cousins that are around my age. we�ve all expressed interest in getting to know one another better, we just haven�t said it to each other. maybe it will take time. i met a cousin for the first time who seems really cool, like someone i�d be friends with (�cause, you know, i only have cool friends), but she lives in columbus. too bad.

today, we�re taking our intern out to lunch because it�s her last day with us. that will be fun, and it will help the day move along faster. my boyTM is coming to see me today, and time can�t move fast enough. we haven�t seen each other in almost 2 and a half weeks, the longest we�ve ever been apart. we�ve decided that such a lengthy separation will never. happen. again.

***

quote of the day:

"censorship is advertising paid by the government." -fellini


previous / next