today the glitterbomber is...
The current mood of glitterbomb at www.imood.com

new
older
profile
100 things
100 more things
e-mail
links and rings
quote-a-licious
guestbook
quizzes
other people
diaryland

did you miss anything?
close of 2003 - 2003-12-31
georgian grapes? in russian wine? - 2003-12-29
i'm gonna wash that database right outta my hair - 2003-12-23
acetone and toluene - 2003-12-22
grilled cheese in my future - 2003-12-21


2002-11-07
11:12 a.m.

i don't think i'll ever understand this place. every time i walk into a building, i get carded. my ID is usually hidden underneath my coat, so i get some security person chanting, "ID? ID?" at me menacingly. so i was extremely surprised when azi and i walked out with a computer the other day.

we were moving my computer from my old office to my new one. first, we loaded up the components on to the wheeled chairs that were in my office, and we rolled over to the elevator. once in the elevator, we got no questioning looks. the same thing happened when we got out on the first floor and headed toward the nearest exit--past various official-type people. now, azi is 22, and i look young, so we could have easily passed for students. and if i were an official-type person who saw two student-y people wheeling out a computer and printer, i might just be suspicious. but no one gave us a second glance, much less asked us where we were going with university property.

azi waited outside with my computer still on the chairs while i went to get my car. then we loaded the computer into my car. still no suspicion. and there were plenty of people around. so, apparently, you can take whatever you want, just don't walk around without your ID.

if i had known it was this easy to steal office equipment, i would have taken a photocopier or two, as well.

disclaimer: i'm not responsible for anyone who actually does try to steal stuff and gets caught! stealing is bad! you have been warned!


previous / next