today the glitterbomber is...
The current mood of glitterbomb at www.imood.com

new
older
profile
100 things
100 more things
e-mail
links and rings
quote-a-licious
guestbook
quizzes
other people
diaryland

did you miss anything?
close of 2003 - 2003-12-31
georgian grapes? in russian wine? - 2003-12-29
i'm gonna wash that database right outta my hair - 2003-12-23
acetone and toluene - 2003-12-22
grilled cheese in my future - 2003-12-21


2002-04-28
8:28 p.m.

graduation yesterday. how to sum it up? exhausting, that's how. i spent the morning running around doing errands. i finally remembered to buy bobbypins so my cap wouldn't fall off my head. then i had to iron everything and make mac & cheese for my sister because she was coming to my place straight from work. my sister made us run late, so i drove like a maniac to the auditorium and ran in, leaving my sister and amy e to park my car. everyone was lined up when i got there, and then i noticed that the stupid university bookstore people gave me the wrong hood for my regalia. i was paranoid about it, but it turned out not to matter too much, especially after i lost the hood somewhere between the reception and the parking lot.

the first part of the ceremony went quickly, but the speeches were long and incredibly boring. what made it worse was the fact that the AV people never showed up, and the store-bought microphone wasn't working. luckily i was surrounded by some friends, so i had people to exchange looks and comments with.

after the ceremony, we stopped by the reception briefly to mingle and get some free snackies. my boss came to the ceremony and the reception, and she gave me a lovely blank book as a gift. i'm glad i had some people at my graduation. my sister was my only family member that came, and i had amy e and my boss, plus some other friends that graduated. it was a big day for me, and i'm glad to have people to share it with.

when i finished posing for pictures (some to be posted later, i hope), me, my sis, amy e, amy b, and amy b's parents, birth mom, and sister headed to a restaurant that we'd picked ahead of time. there was a two hour wait. so we went next door. same story. at this point it was seven PM, and my blood sugar was plummeting rapidly. amy e, sis, and i settled for a small restaurant near my house. it was fun, though.

the whole day just exhausted me. i went to bed incredibly early and slept about twelve hours. i still have to finish my thesis. i have two or three days to do it. i'm an official MPH now, so yay.

today was another tiring day. i had more errands to run (lots to do before i leave for poland), and i wanted to stop over my grandma's. that short visit turned into dinner, then my sister came back to my place with me to use my computer. luckily, she didn't stay long because i have a ton of work to do. i am making the ultimate sacrifice--i am missing six feet under so i can get some work done. it's painful.

there was a cool storm today. the sky darkened, then suddenly poured down rain. rain that made a mist from the bouncing raindrops just above the street. then the wind started, blowing leaves and rain sideways. my sister and i were watching television when we heard "thunk" "thunk" "thunk." we looked out of the window and saw hail dropping down and bouncing on the lawn. the hail got bigger and bigger until it was nearly golfball size. the lightning came after that. it was amazing and scary and cool. i love storms.

***

quote of the day:

"i see penises" -casey, my sister


previous / next