today the glitterbomber is...
The current mood of glitterbomb at www.imood.com

new
older
profile
100 things
100 more things
e-mail
links and rings
quote-a-licious
guestbook
quizzes
other people
diaryland

did you miss anything?
close of 2003 - 2003-12-31
georgian grapes? in russian wine? - 2003-12-29
i'm gonna wash that database right outta my hair - 2003-12-23
acetone and toluene - 2003-12-22
grilled cheese in my future - 2003-12-21


2003-02-17
4:21 p.m.

since whoever is in charge of the weather obviously hates us, i thought i might not go into work today. but when i got up this morning and checked my voice mail for work, there was a message from my boss saying she wanted to meet with me today, but if i couldn�t make it in, she�d understand. that made my decision for me, so i got ready for work. when i stepped outside and saw how much snow there was, i should have said the hell with it and went back inside to spend some quality time with hot chocolate. because i don�t often think before i act, i proceeded to excavate my car. i cleared almost a foot of snow off of it. one of my neighbors was out shoveling the snow, so he dug out a path for me to swing my car out into the street. i managed to pull out onto the street and start off to work. the roads were terrible, and i slid around a lot, but i eventually got there and parked in a garage.

once i settled into my cube, i called my boss. she told me that she decided to stay in her other office and wasn�t coming to where i work, so we could just discuss things over the phone. then she told me she�s pregnant with twins and gave me some things to work on.

i tried not to be pissed at this point, but i was a bit angry. mostly at myself and the situation. i was mad that i made a stupid choice to stress myself by going into work when i didn�t really have to. i was ready to turn around and go home, but i remembered the hellish drive in and decided to stay a bit. two hours later, i decided i�d had enough and went home. it was 2 pm, and i was hungry, besides.

the roads were much better when i left, except for my neighborhood, of course. i think the snow plows avoid my street on purpose. when i got home, i realized that when my neighbor dug a path for my car, neither one of us thought about how i would get back into my parking spot on the street. there was nowhere else on my street to park, so i decided to make a loop and come back around to my street through the alley, since i saw that the alley was clear.

i got stuck trying to get into the alley. a man and his wife who were digging out their cars came over to help me. it took several tries for me to be able to get out. at this point, i was convinced i was doing irreparable damage to my poor car. and my gas tank was practically on empty.

i made it back onto my street and parked as close to the sidewalk as possible. my building�s snow shovel was MIA, so borrowed one from the old woman who lives next door (not in a shoe, ha). i cleared away most of the snow and tried to pull my car in. no. i shoveled some more and tried again. no. i did this several times, but my tires were spinning, and i was going nowhere. by this time, it was almost 3, and i was frustrated and hadn�t eaten all day. i was crying as i was flinging snow. my neighbor suggested salt, so i sprinkled it liberally all over. after a couple of tries, i managed to get my car in the spot and as close to the sidewalk as possible.

i hate snow more than ever.

i had a therapy appointment, but i called to cancel because i feel that it�s important to my mental health if i don�t leave my apartment again today. i don�t think my therapist was too happy with me for canceling on such short notice, but too bad.

i think i�ll look for jobs in the tropics.


previous / next